Drum machine for hard techno

I’m going to get a drum machine to pair with my octatrack. I’d like it to be versatile though I’ll mostly likely be using it for hard and industrial techno. I recently sold my machinedrum, digitakt and digitone so obviously I don’t want those recommendations. My current thoughts are the rytm or maybe the tr8s. Another option would be a cheaper tr8 and get an analog heat to distort/overdrive it. The goal is to make jams/tunes with these 2 boxes (no laptop required). Would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions.

1 Like

I have no experience with the tr8s but i ll testify the AR meets the requirements. Between the analog engines, samples, multiple distortion stages and advanced sequencer, you should be able to find your thing. Love mine for similar purposes.

5 Likes

You can get an old jomox 888 / 999 / 09 for about £600
They kick serious techno

5 Likes

Do you want access to the classics? Get a TR-8.

Do you want access to the classics with the ability to add additional processing and effects? Get a TR-8s (pretty excellent compression/drive/distortion in there; no immediate need for a Heat).

Do you not care about the classics but want something flexible and Real Analogue™? Get a Rytm.

6 Likes

I had both a jomox 09 and TR909. Ditched both. Machinedrum and AR stayed :wink:

5 Likes

I have to say nothing has made me happier than the drums from the A4, but yeah not having a sequencer per drum voice makes it more of a challenge as a drum focused box. I guess mentally I often think of sampled drums for industrial techno. I think the tr8s probably should get the job done, although I would have said the same about the digitakt and machiendrum. Go for the tr8s if it is calling to you!

2 Likes

Tanzbar
AR
Jomox
TR8s

4 Likes

Maybe things will change, but my favorite drum machine is my A4mkii. In my eurorack, I also have a Jomox MB09, Cwejman BLD and Basilimus Iteritas Alter. Pretty well pleased

1 Like