What's the sequencing theory in IDM?

I’ve all the sequencing tools I need, Euclidian, piano roll, step sequencer, step conditions, random trig, trig repeat and what not, but every time I try to build more complex, non-repetitive IDM/break-beat like patterns I always end up with muddy chaos.

How to find the right balance between coherence and disorder?

What should be structured and what can be let to some more randomness?

How to make the track breath? Somehow, all sounds are on top of each other, nothing stand out, no tension/release, no break.

What are your recommendation here, where to start?

Thanks!

11 Likes

Basically : EQing, Filtering, Compressing.

5 Likes

I’m constantly trying to figure this out as well.

I won’t pretend I’m an expert, but two things recently I’ve been doing:

(When sampling), much smaller slices, really just grabbing the peak and a bit around it, so that when played back at something like 160bpm in between a bunch of other stuff you’re just getting the main hit. Not sure if I’m describing this well, hopefully you get what I’m saying.

The second thing I’ve been trying is kind of the opposite. When chopping breakbeats if there are sections of the break that have multiple hits in a small window (think 32nd notes), I’ll take slices like that and exclude “single hit” slices. Then when I sequence, I won’t sequence every step in stay a 16th note split bar, instead doing 8th notes or something.

These two different approaches have let to some more clarity in the breakbeat mangling for me recently. Don’t know that I’ve explained very well, but it’s a topic I’m constantly exploring so wanted to contribute.

Also this for sure. I feel like I need to end up removing almost all the low end for it to not sound like muddy garbage, in addition to other areas of the freq. spectrum. I usually try and play around by ear until there is a bit more clarity.

3 Likes

And panning

3 Likes