The sound of the A4/AK... like or dislike?

I personally like the sound, but I may not be as experienced in many analog synths as some here. I’ve come across many comments on various platforms of people not digging the sound of the A4/AK. If you’re among these people I’d like to know what exactly you dislike about it. Likewise if you love the sound, I’d like to know what about the sound you like. What other things about these two synths do you like or dislike?

I like it, It’s not a huge sound by turning 1 knob, but it’s a modulation monster…
Most synths play 1 sound at a time AF can do so much more and has a lot of tricks…

17 Likes

It’s a great all-rounder soundwise but I do find the sound more brassy than creamy.

9 Likes

I’m still kind of new to the sound engines so I haven’t really had the pleasure of fully exploring the Sonic capabilities but I think it’s pretty damn good. There’s some really good presets but not a massive amount. I feel like it would be difficult to make a really nice string sound…

Mainly I’m drawn to really raw synth sounds, so it’s right up my alley. I have a few complaints though. Osc. Sync doesn’t really seem to affect the sound as much as it does on my Miniak (probably because the Miniak has 3 VCO’s per voice giving the sync effect more complexity than the 2 VCO structure of the Analog Keys). The fact that, despite having great filters, only filter 2 is a multimode filter, which wouldn’t be a problem if I could route the OSC signal to Filter 2, and filter 2 signal to filter 1, but as it is, you have to send it through the lowpass before a bandpass or highpass or whatever (not a huge deal, but still worth mentioning). The fact that the VCO’s can’t produce sine waves is also noticeable, although it doesn’t personally bother me.