Syntakt users: How stable/unstable are your Dual VCOs?

Yesterday I finally got my Syntakt, so today I started learning how to use it following a quickstart guide on Youtube. This is my first Elektron box and also my first synth with analog circuits so I don’t have a whole lot experience with either.

Anyway, long story short, I get to the part of the quickstart guide where I learned how to record a bass line with the Dual VCO machine, the guide and I both had everything within the machine at default settings. When I played the same bass notes I noticed that the F on my Syntakt sounded incredibly unpleasantly detuned and phasey, whereas on the Syntakt in the video it sounded quite normal and pleasant. Now I’ve heard that analog circuits can sound different when they’re warmed up vs. when the machine just started so I tried both of those but the difference was still there. I then noticed that at exactly -12.00 detune on the machine parameter the F sounds incredibly phasey due to being ever so slightly out of tune, and that -12.00 and -11.99 are actually the exact same setting on my Syntakt for that parameter as the phase doesn’t change. -12.01 sounds much more pleasant, and indeed, in order to get as close to a perfect octave between the oscillators as possible I have to change this parameter to -11.83 or -11.82. If I want to tune both oscillators to be the same pitch I have to tune somewhere in the ballpark of +0.20. -0.00 is also very phasey.

So my question is, how detuned are your Dual VCOs at -12 or at -0? It definitely seems like my Syntakt’s Dual VCOs are less stable than those of other units I have heard.

Welcome.
You may perform a calibration to see if this gets better.

Get in the System menu/calibration and report.

2 Likes