Syntakt... Can it Buchla?

I’ve been experimenting with modular synths for the past 11 years, after rewiring my brain now I approach most patchable synths like a modular. The first ‘Can it Buchla’ video I made was on the Digitone, I’ve always wanted a Buchla, but I can’t justify spending $20k on a 12-space Buchla 200e.
So I will chase the frequency dragon by using my imagination to make sounds, patches, and compositions inspired by this amazing instrument and composers like Morton Subotnick, my friend, and fellow synth composer Todd Barton to name a few.

So let’s get to it. Here’s the first video of me experimenting with the Syntakt from this perspective, feel free to join in with your ideas and videos so we can have a place for non-grooveboxy Syntakt patch recipes and discussions.

63 Likes

The Arturia version is very cheap and does a fantastic job.

4 Likes

True indeed, it actually sounds pretty close to a Buchla Music Easel, my buddy was a beta tester for Arturia during the creation of that virtual instrument.

2 Likes

Love these sounds :slight_smile:

Love the sounds you came up with here, the Buchla vibes are coming through loud and clear — and I like how you used the Syntakt’s many tracks to create layers while keeping the whole composition in Buchla territory. Really nice stuff. I have nothing else to contribute here since I have no Syntakt and no Buchla but keep it up, this is great!

1 Like

These textures are really, really good, you nailed the vibe.

Yeah definitely capturing some of those westcoast vibes here, well done for sure! …but I can’t help but feel there is a lack of danger or something with in it. Like when listening to a buchla performance often there is sort of a tension when sounds build rapidly and then a release. I suppose this maybe lacks the levels of dynamics I might expect and maybe a little more static in timing.