Need Midi routing advice

I need to figure out the most efficient way to hook all of my gear together via midi, no computer. I’m not sure wether I need a 4x4 midi merger, plus a midi thru box, or some kind of midi patch bay. I’m a bit of a noob with merge and thru boxes, and no very little about older midi patch bays.

My Set up includes:
Alesis Q49
Tempest
Octatrack
Slim Phatty
KP3+, and will eventually add some midi accessible moogerfoogers.

Right now I have the Tempest and the Q49 going to a 2x1 midi merge cable running into the Octatrack,
Octatrack MIDI OUT to the SlimPhatty.
SlimPhatty MIDI THRU back to the Tempest.
This lets me use the Tempest as Master Clock, and I can play the SlimPhatty from either the Q40 or the OT.
I can also play Tempest synth sounds from the Q49 and OT, as well as control a few other Tempest params from the OT.

Tempest Midi Out > Midi Thru Box
Midi Thru OUT > KP3 (to synch the KP3 from Tempest)
Midi Thru Out > Midi Merge (to sync OT)

SlimPhatty Midi Out > Midi Merge IN
KP3 Midi Out > Midi Merge IN
Midi Merge OUT > Octatrack Midi IN
Octatrack Thur > Tempest Midi IN

Im thinking this would let me use the Tempest as the Master clock running to the Thru Box > Midi Merge > OT, and the KP3
The Q49 could play the OT the SlimPhatty, or the Tempest per chosen Midi Channel.
The SlimPhatty’s CC values could be sent into the OT via SP Midi Out > Merger > OT Midi IN
And I could use the KP3 as a controller by sending its Midi OUT to the Merger.

Any pointers on how to get all of this stuff hooked up proper would be great.
Also open to wether the Octatrack should be the Master Clock vs the Tempest.
Midi Mergers, Thru Boxes, Patchbays?
I need advice.

Thanks

I’m having a hard time making sense of that post.

Here’s what I would do given the gear.

Q49> OT
OT> Tempest>Slim Phatty > KP3

As far as I can remember ,as I’ve owned most of this, the Tempest and the Slim Phatty have MIDI thru and the KP3 does not.