KMI Softstep + RYTM start stop MIDI message

Hi, I’m trying to control the Rytm with the Keith McMillen Softstep.
I’m new at MIDI so please excuse me if my question is stupid.
I managed to program mutes on the Softstep and it works well, but I couldn’t find a way to start and stop the sequencer with the Softstep.
Transport receive is ON.
I would also like to jump to the next pattern with the Softstep.
Do anybody have a clue ?

i’ve no personal experience with it but if the pedal is capable of sending MIDI Start/Stop messages, then there shouldn’t be problems with that…

Thank you !
This is the Softstep software, am I doing the right thing ?

you’re welcome :relaxed:
mm…from the look of it, seems like the settings are ok
you could check which message the Softstep is sending out using a computer and a MIDI monitor to make sure it is effectively sending the right message (0xfa -> start)

Sorry, what is 0xfa ?
Also, I can choose ID number on the Softstep, which one is the Rytm’s ?

i should have probably been a bit more clear on this one, sorry

0xfa is the hexadecimal value for a MIDI start message, which belongs, together with few other messages, to ‘system real-time messages’. you could check if your device is sending such message using a software on your computer
looking at the ‘output settings’, i can see you’ve selected MMC and play (which is fine but has a different purpose), it means that the Softstep will send a MMC (MIDI machine control) message, which differs from the one above.
below the ‘output settings’ there’s another drop down menu for ‘message type’, are there other types you can select? if so, which one?

Thank you !
These are the message types the Softstep can send :
None
Note set
Note Live
CC
Bank
Program
Pitch bend
MMC

Softstep can’t send system real-time messages

did you find a solution to this? I was wondering the same thing. I want to press play with my feet while I am playing my bass.