Ideal midi synth partner for octatrack

Hi folks
Newbie here, so apols if weve been round this before . I am really enjoying the complexity of my OT but its already clear to me that it needs a midi friend to play with its sequencer
Im thinking 2 options :-
(I) buy a decent interface( like an iconnect 4 +audio )and use my ipad pro apps as midi sound sources and use it for sampling duties as well
(Ii). A four voice synth ( preferably multi timbral ( but not essential) with effects?) - if so what are the best buys new or second hand below ÂŁ600ish .
Ambient, minimal and glitch type stuff
Needing your experienced opinions people on which is the best idea (i) or (ii) , and best options within (ii)
Thanks in anticipation
Chris

Nord rack 2 x or a1r with effect
Waldorf blofeld
Digitone
Ms 2000
Radias
A4

Im just rocking digitakt alone actually, and would already have a nord 2 if digitakt could applie fx to input. Take something knobby!!

6 Likes

I’ve tried the iPad way, thought it was the perfect combination of possibilities and userinterface. But i was wrong. I find the touch interface not musical/tactile enough. So i would go for option ii. Maybe a Nord Rack 2. Can’t go wrong with that one, nice interface, enough voices, drumprograms and 4xmultitimbral and 4 outs. Although it has no effects, but you can use the OT effects.

+1

2 Likes

System-1/1m.

1 Like

My midi partners for the octatrack are:
1 - Novation Circuit
2 - Ipad + interface
3 - Korg MS2000R

All of them are cool, but today I really like to use it with the novation circuit, because it opens up a whole “chromatic” world which OT does not have + sequencer + it gives 2 synths and some more samples, also it sounds good to my ears. When I dont find a good sound in the Novation Circuit synths I plug the iPad in the midi out of the circuit and use some apps in ipad (you can even use the knobs in the circuit like a midi controller for the ipad, to turn knobs in the apps). Its super fun and efficient.