How to quickly turn OT into TR-8s?

Hello I am a total newbie,

After investigating what would be most suited towards my immediate needs for a drum machine and sampler, and by the way of battling Digitakt and TR-8s, I was ushered deeply into the Elektron domain, after I wrapped my head around what Digitakt does, I found the light and got well into OT Mk2. What a delightful machine, I received it today.

So, here I am.

What would be the best approach to create “DRUM KITS” per se, so I can quickly start a project and load up a certain drum machine, is there anyway to make templates? Would they live as projects themselves?

I would love to quickly write drum parts, process and record into the DAW.
Also, panning would be rather important for me to get the right sonic field while programming all the parts and effects. I do not see panning options under the MIX per track. What am I missing?

Cheers

1 Like

Yes and yes. I’ve made a couple project templates, but be careful because you can easily forget you’re on a template and start tweaking and putting stuff in lol. Make a template, then Save As New to get started with goofing around.

Panning is in the amp page, it’s called “BAL” (which is weird because other Elektron devices call it PAN…)

There are lots of ways you can go about this. I would set up a project/template that has a bunch of 808/909 sounds loaded into the static slots. Get–you know–four kicks, four snares, four hats, claps, etc. on and on. Fill up a good amount of slots. Then all you gotta do is load in the samples for the specific track and you’re in business.

3 Likes

I think a fast change between these “templates” could be with parts. So you have 4 “templates” per Bank.
If it’s ok if changing takes a few seconds you use 1 project for 1 “template”.

1 Like

Great! I was just organising the drum samples. I was guessing the workflow for populating the device would be thru creating
SETS > Drum Machines
PROJECT > Template 1
AUDIO > 808
Dmx
Linn, etc.