BEST SOFTWARE SEQUENCER for Vintage Hardware Synths with good support?

Any suggestions for a great Software Sequencer to control my Prophet 6 module and other vintage synths? Looking, of course for great midi integration. Stand Alone and Plug-in for Protools.
Just returned a Hapax. Looking for more flexibility.

Drambo

7 Likes

Fruity Loops aka fl studio will run as a VSTi within another sequencer, including pro tools I assume.

Max

7 Likes
1 Like

It’d help to know specifically what you need more flexibility around. The Hapax does a pretty good job sequencing pretty much everything MIDI can do, so if it’s not enough the solution might be something pretty niche. And details would help find it.

2 Likes

Five12 Numerology

10 Likes

Some great sequencer suggestions here:

Good point, Jemmons --I am a total novice to all this. I am a professional guitar player looking to augment some demos with minimal keys and fills from time to time. So I’ve been looking to a step sequencer because my piano skills are wanting. Primarily going to use it with a Prophet 6 and Nord stage. I find it hard to get any expression out of the Hapax unless you play live, which I have no staying power to do. Not sure if the fact that it is missing functions like Glide, Ties, Nudge, and LEGato (on the Oxy One) … Obviously, a lot of these can be controlled on the hardware synth through the envelope, etc. But the Hapax feels imprecise, especially if I am not doing fast attack/fast release type sequences. I have tried to dive deep into live passages to understand their DNA through “zooming in” – there is overlap and duration differences – but it is a tedious process. And as much as it is trying to be more visual with the grid – when you get to longer sequences, I find it difficult to navigate. Though that will improve with time. I love getting off the computer and out of PT, but I may need more visual cues and flexibility if it is afforded in a software solution. Trying to figure it out –