Album Of The Year 2020

It’s that time of the year again.

I used to write for a monthly music magazine until it went bankrupt. I used to be a resident dj for a couple of local clubs until I myself went bankrupt and needed to get a real job. I used to work in a record shop for 10 years.

All of those professions demanded that come november/december I’d have to list my favourite 10 albums and songs of the past year. Nowadays I’m not required to do it anymore but I still love doing it. I start making notes in january and collecting an iTunes playlist of my AOTY shortlist.

I filled the Pitchfork reader poll on monday and on top of both my Album and Song lists was the same artist, Phoebe Bridgers. For me Punisher can’t be topped in 2020. It’s in a class of it’s own. Probably the album I’ve listened to most in 2020. I’ll never get tired of it.

What’s your choice for Album Of The Year 2020? What about Song Of The Year? You can also list your top tens if you feel like it. It can be techno, folk, classical, anything. Whatever rocked your boat in 2020.

13 Likes

For me, there is only one contender:

(BTW, I had no idea what Aoty meant before clicking)

12 Likes

Top 3 tracks of the year.

Top 3 albums of the year.

Honourable mention: Autechre, obvs.

4 Likes

Lawrence English Field Recordings From The Zone for me. Recorded in the aftermath of the Oz bushfires while everyone was suffering lockdown.

A nice touch from a great artist.

4 Likes

I am listening to so little new music these days…or maybe I’m just not cataloguing every single thing I listened to this year so it seems like little…or I’ve just become super particular in my middle years…I’m not sure.

Anywaaaaayyyy. Stand outs were…

Sam Prekop (of Sea and Cake) is, imo, one of the premiere modular artists

Brin’s debut LP was a huge step forward for him

yuk. doesn’t stop

Ripatti is still showing us somewhere

Cindy Lee…always…