Issue with sampling

Hello there,

I’m new to the Octatrack, I have managed to record some audio from you tube, without any issues. I could audition the sample by pressing the Sample Trig of the corresponding track. However something awful happens as I place a track trig to audition the track in the context of my sequence; the sample is overwritten, just by pressing the play button? why is this? Is there any place I can deactivate this counter intuitive behavior?

Thank you!

-Gina.

Make sure you are setting a playback trig and not a record trig. If you are in the recorder setup pages (either of them) then setting a trig will set a record trig, which will, yes, overwrite the sample.

If you exit out of the recorder setup, the trig you toggle will be a playback trig.

2 Likes

You can also save your sample (Fn+Bank in REC SETUP 1), and edit it after if needed.
There no auto-save, if you record again with the same recorder, or if you turn off the Octatrack, the recording is lost.
Happy sampling to you. :content:

3 Likes

Thank you for the quick response Basenead, but that isn’t working, I’m setting up the trig while having the recording set up pages closed, and after I recorded the sample, but I am getting the same behavior, also, keep in mind that there is no record button being pressed at the time, by only pressing the play button the sample gets rewritten.

Is there a tutorial somewhere? I did the one posted in the Electron You Tube Page and it doesn’t work for me.

Thank you again,

Sezare, I tryed your advice saved the track, press play, and the sample got rewritten.

It has been hour of this, this is really something, hu?

I think I got it! there was a random recording trig at the end of the sequence, which I wasn’t aware of! thank you!

4 Likes

the octa can be weird like that. give it plenty of time and patience and it will reward you

2 Likes

When you save a sample, you have 3 assign choices.