Who’s using a subwoofer + best headphones for referencing sub bass

So I recently got my first pair of good monitors, a used pair of Dynaudio BM6As. They are listed as going down to 41Hz, but I’m finding myself lusting after the BM9s subwoofer to compliment them (if I come across one at a good price).

I have read a lot of mixed experiences about subwoofers in home studios and I’m wondering what people’s experiences here have been.

Also, my trusty pair of Sony 900st headphones that I have been monitoring with for the last 10-12 years are falling apart. I’m wondering if people have a preferred pairs of headphones for referencing sub bass. I’m thinking a good pair of cans could fill in until I find a good deal on a sub.

I’m interested to follow this one too man.

1 Like

cud always add one of them bass back pack things-

I’ve seen those. Are they any good?

+1, I don’t really have an appropriately prepared space to jump into subwoofers and I don’t want to create more problems so I’m after some nice cans.

@s3kn0tr0n1c that is some futuristic shit, I wonder how well it works. it seems too gimmicky to be legit.

Edit: seems to have pretty glowing reviews on Amazon, Interesting

”As a professional musician/audio engineer for over 15 years, I can confidently say the is the most revolutionary game changer since the first time I heard a sub in a well treated room. I will never again produce, mix or master without this thing strapped on.”

This is sort of an interesting video on subwoofers. It was interesting to hear that a well-functioning subwoofer helps to more accurately represent reverb and sense of space, so for instance by filling in missing frequencies it will allow a violin to be more clearly pinpointed within a mix. Even if mixing with a sub is difficult, I wouldn’t mind having one just for listening to music, if that’s the case.