What can. I do with. the model cycles on Abelton

Im a bit of a noob
but I know I can record all 6 tracks into one output, theres gotta be some work around without recording one by one or a more effiecient way to record tracks one by one maybe some external device or app ive seen the tenor app not sure if thats. a help as well

any help is much appreciated.

Cycles only has stereo output on analog jacks, and the stereo output over USB.

There is absolutely no way to record the tracks separately/simultaneously. It does not have multitrack facilities.

For that feature, you’d need to step up to at least a Digitone or Digitakt, which have Overbridge.

4 Likes

Hey thanks Adam,

Digitone and Digitakt seem a lot different sounding then M:C surely they could develop a way to transfer model cycles info into an overbridge type app or at least allow the transfer of M:C tracks into a Digitone/ Digitakt also could panning left and right possibly make two separate tracks at the least ?

Hard panning will work to get you 2 tracks, as long as you don’t mind a bit of crossbleed from the fx.

2 Likes

ahh I see thats crucial

Hard pan. Then it’s just 3 bounces, which is pretty painless in Ableton.

1 Like

true, have you tried this ?or have any tips or tricks for getting the best sound into Abelton ?

If I make a pattern on the mc I normally just record the LR stereo of the performance. After end performance I’ll let the mc run while still recording and then make a recording of each track(track 1 On the rest Muted) etc.

I find that when I do a performance, tweeking and muting thats where the magic happens and I don’t care too much about the separation. I does take a bit of planing so you make sure that you have all the parts/sections needed for the song.

Sometimes I need to do it more that once but that’s also how I learn to play the composition.

If I need some thing extra I’ll use the separate recordings.

3 Likes