Trigless locks affecting live play

Hi,

Newbie here. The Analog Keys is my first Elektron product and I’m really loving the sound I can squeeze out of it. I’ve done a few patches and started to build some patterns to see how I can use it during a live gig.

One thing that puzzles me; and I haven’t been able to figure it out using the User Manual either.

Is it possible to have a trigless parameter lock affecting my sound even though I haven’t programmed a melody on the same track but rather playing it live (on the same track of course) from the keyboard?

Thanks!
David

hey, welcome
it shouldn’t be possible as the keyboard input overrides the info tagged to the parameter locks or sound locks, so you will only hear the current voice tone, not any variation of it locked within the sequencer which is ignored whilst you input from the keyboard

1 Like

Really???

Not being able to run the sequencer purely as a mod/control sequencer on a keyboard instrument seems like a pretty odd design decision, and a huge oversight.

Seems even more strange since this IS possible on the monomachine (if I remember correctly).

Ouch. That’s a major downside of this fantastic instrument. This would be my number one feature request - ahead of Overbridge and other features.
The AK would be an amazing live synth if this was possible. Some of us just don’t want to pre-program our melodies. And since there actually is a keyboard available… Oh well… This was in fact a big surprise that Elektron had overlooked it.

i doubt very much it’s an ‘oversight’ tbh, the (many) performance aspects are there to permit realtime ‘variations’ - and it makes sense when you think about the priority they give to played notes over sequenced notes - you could externally sequence the parameters or performance controls - it’s just not the way it is, i doubt very much that this will ever change !