Trackers / Dirtywave

Hey, guys. I am really sorry if I’m asking banal questions, but I’ve been a little confused, so I’d like someone to explain it a little bit better to me. I have no experience with trackers. I was reading a little about it and I joined the Dirtywave discord. In general, I understand how the trackers work, but usually people mention them as samplers. It says that Dirtywave has multiple engines and that’s what confuses me. I’d like to know how different it is from a regular synth, how hard is it to produce music on it, and how much math do you need in order to understand it? Thank you in advance!

Tracking is a sequencing method. It’s frequently tied to sample playback since early tracker software mainly used samples, but it’s common for trackers to have external MIDI sequencing, internal sound generation, VST hosting, etc. M8 is kind of a spiritual successor to the LSDJ Gameboy tracker, which has both sample playback and internal synthesis.

It’s not that different to something like the Monomachine that allows you to assign a variety of different synthesis engines to different sequencer tracks, with the tradeoff being that they’re slightly simplified. For example, the M8 FM engine isn’t as complex as a dedicated 4-OP FM synth like the TX81z but there’s still plenty of range there.

There’s a learning curve, especially with tables and the phrases-chains hierarchy, but it’s not much harder than learning an Elektron machine for the first time. There are plenty of resources available and it doesn’t take long for things to click into place. Once you get used to it it’s a very fast and fluid way to work.

You don’t need to know any actual maths, just hexadecimal numbers. All they’re used for is representing parameters, you rarely need to do any actual calculation.

5 Likes