Took Digitone back to store

Wasn’t feeling the Digitone at all. Got too excited after getting the digitakt and thought they would be a good pair. I just felt I would never use it so had to move on. And move on quick so I could return it to guitar center. Anyone else not feeling the Digitone? My background is more hip hop tunes I sample a lot but l try to flip the samples till you can’t hear the source material anymore.

1 Like

I believe you have to embrace FM tones before you realize how powerful the Digitone is.

12 Likes

Probably so. Maybe one day I’ll try again.

I got mine a couple of days ago. It sounds absolutely incredible but I just don’t have the synth programming skills to get the most out of it and I think I will find it easier and faster using samples. It’s absolutely a case of “it’s not you, it’s me” because it’s clearly incredibly powerful but FM is probably just too much for my primitive brain! Im going to send it back and get a Digitakt. I’ve got GBs of samples already and I figure it’ll be easy to expand If I want to get more hardware synths and sequence from Digitakt as well.

The other thing that occurred to me is that it would be very easy to use the huge range of cheap and great sounding iPhone music apps as a source of sounds to sample. I’ve got loads already.

2 Likes

If you’re more into sampling of acoustic material, old soul or jazz records etc. the digitone might just not be for you. It’s fm, so very digital, electronic sounding.

How long have you been making music? Also what was the reason you bought it?