Tips on making deep techy house like chris stussy, djoko, harrison bdp etc?

i feel so lost trying to get better at this style of music. i’m not a prodigy with sound design but i feel relatively adept. im not sure what i’m missing but feels like i’m never hitting the sound i want. coming from making hiphop for the past 6years my head spins trying to figure out some of the techniques these guys use. any tips?

p

1 Like

Can we hear any examples of music in that genre you’ve been making?

I’d say one key is to keep the musical stuff minimal. Build a beat (909ish stuff). If that works alone you are already halfway there. Lay a bassline on that. If they work together find a motiv that is kept minimal and play with it.

Sounds simple, but it’s hard. A big key is the arrangement.

8 Likes

I think most of the advice you are going to get is going to sound pretty generic.
My 10 cents would be this:

• listen and analize the tracks that you like and would like to emulate
  • If you get your initial sounds right the rest will be a lot easier
  • Practice recreating specific parts of a track, hi hat patterns, kicks, percs, bass etc…
  • Be patient with yourself, switching genres is not easy, there are a new set of “rules” you will have to learn
  • If you work with a DAW, take a tune you like, put it on a track and use it as a guide for your arrangement
5 Likes

I don’t know these particular artists (but will try to check them out when I get a minute). As mentioned above, anything that’s a “true” techno genre is going to be almost entirely about the sounds and the arrangement. There aren’t complex melodies, there is a ton of repetition and cyclical motion. It’s also all about subtlety and minute changes in patterns and slow evolutions of the sounds. Something that takes some time to figure out is just when to drop in a change. Also a touch of swing will also get things moving nicely.