Tempo in the file name

Just a quick question…

Was it not meant to be true that if you include a number at the end of your sample file name, the OT will assume that to be the tempo? I occasionally use the OT to dj with and after loading 40+ tracks into static slots it’s annoying to have to go through them and input the tempo in the attributes of every slot even though I have already prepped the tracks in Ableton adding the tempo to the end of the filename. I think the OT will change this automatically for short loops but for some reason it never does for longer files.
Am I missing something? It would be amazing to sort this simple problem.

I’m a noob having this issue too. I’ve added samples from my computer that all have the BPM in the file name, yet all my samples have the original tempo listed as 120 in the attributes…subbed to this thread and waiting for more knowledgable folks to chime in.

Hey Corpus . … I’ve been away from net for last while, sorry about leaving you hanging… so… any knowledgeable users out there want to share their wisdom on this?

Seems a simple issue that needs attention!

It should pick them up… OS versions?

Hi there,
As much as I know the manual says that. If you add a number (120 for instance) the machine will understand that’s the original tempo for that sample and it will be better for the timestretching…

If you look in the manual it has a disclaimer saying that the tempo auto detect only works within a certain range of tempos ( can’t remember exact details now) and that samples with tempos outside that range may be picked up incorrectly.
So, what tempo are the samples you are having trouble with, and are they inside the range specified in the manual?

I think long loops will probably throw it off too, but I’m not really sure on that.

85 - 170 bpm

Thanks for your thoughts everyone…