Teenage Engineering PO-32 / Microtonic

NAMM is over, and some of us have already received our PO-32 tonic bundles.

I’ve never used SonicCharge stuff before and I was pleasantly surprised to see that it’s available as a standalone app when I received the download code with the PO-32.

There’s a bunch of little visual layout things about the Microtonic UI that make my eyes bleed, but for every one of those, there’s some thoughtful touches. You can just tell it’s a labor of love, and I dig software with a bit of soul. I like how I can switch tracks simply by typing 1–8 across my keyboard. Same thing with the A-L patterns. It’s no Nord Drum… but as MIDI or sample fodder for a Digitakt, it would be pretty slick.

Oh, yeah. There’s a Pocket Operator that came with it. Very cute. But right now it’s all about exploring Microtonic. I see that patterns are transferred from Microtonic to the PO-32 in half-batches at a time. That’s fine. Now I have a way to save, transfer, and backup sounds and patterns.

Microtonic enthusiasts, what else am I missing? And for everyone else, have you discovered any cool things about Microtonic since playing with the PO-32?

1 Like

I’m totally blown away by the PO-32 in that package. It’s so much more than Microtonic, because it’s got the 16 FX (recordable per step and playable live on top), and the two “p-lockable” knobs for morph per channel and pitch. Crazy stuff. And you can use Microtonic for sound-design as a starting point for patterns. But right now, Microtonic is much more limited than the PO-32, even if it has double the channels.

Someone here said “Pocket :elmd:” and he might be right.

2 Likes

There’s some things you can do in PO-32 that you can’t in Microtonic, such as trig-less parameter locks which is pretty cool.

Also check out patternarium if you haven’t already for a supply of ever evolving beats.

1 Like

This is not possible at the moment. AFAIK the creator of microtonic is trying to solve this problem though.