Synthstrom Deluge as live looper (vs OT or in general)

Hi All

Starting a thread per the above for the following reasons:

1. Alot of Elektronauts seem to be into live looping;
  2. A fair few of us have Deluges;
  3. The Deluge has looping functionality, but there are strangely very few good demos online of the Deluge being used for this purpose (as opposed to lots on the OT);
  4. From a personal perspective, I am just getting into live ambient guitar looping on the OTmk2, and loving it. The PU machines have their pitfalls which are well known, but it’s still a fun solution, particularly as PU loops can be sliced/played with on Flex machines. However, I also have Deluge, and a Morningstar foot controller (which works well with both OT and Deluge). So I am interested in experiences from:
  • People who have looped with both Deluge and (separately) the OT who can share experiences/compare; or
  • People who have looped with the Deluge.

Personally, I am in to creative/ambient/soundscapey looping, zero interest in a one man band type scenario where someone lays down quantised funky parts. All of the OT demos I have seen tend to be one man band scenarios, and less really creative stuff. Is this because the Deluge is not well suited for that?

Comments are very welcome! I have some specific questions but would like to keep this open ended at first.

1 Like

Live looping on the Dellie is fast, immediate and clever. However, audio tracks in the Deluge don’t have access to all that many parameters as regular samples, so in comparison to what Deluge can do to samples, which is a lot, there’s the somewhat odd reduction of features for audio tracks.

Having said that, I find it quick, inspiring and immediate as a tool for writing music. For live
performance, haven’t tried.

2 Likes
  1. Could you please elaborate on what is missing in terms of audio manipulation? I suspect this is why people are not using this creatively (or perhaps you are)?