Surgeon Q&A

I’m a big fan of Surgeon and definitely vibe on the OT+modular since that’s my approach. Love his thoughts about limitations.

Anyway, I figured others might find some value in this video.

Oops, I guess it can’t be embedded. Oh well.

12 Likes

Been looking for this, cheers for posting it!

Big Tony uses an Octatrack in his live rig but he “doesn’t really like it” :slight_smile:

Who?

You disqualified yourself for not knowing the almighty Surgeon.

5 Likes

Thanks for the share, that was interesting! Using a modular in such a “self-imposed limits” way makes alot of sense to me. Perhaps I should look into modular again…

1 Like

Disqualified from a boot-licking contest. Ok fine. Thank you.

Surgeon’s music is decent, remember some of his stuff from the nineties - no offense but I don’t do celebrity cult.

3 Likes

Who is MichalHo?

2 Likes

Yeah, I think he admitted that while he doesn’t like the OT particularly, there’s nothing else that quite does what it can within one box. So, while he doesn’t like it - it serves a function :slight_smile:

Tsutek, I think that route for modular is the only way I can go since I’m a schoolteacher without much money, but I also think it serves as a proper instrument that way. I get the appeal of super giant modulars and trading things in and out, but it would destroy my productivity and I think it’s a serious financial drain as well of endless ‘baseball card collecting’ or something. I want to make music still.

1 Like

Ha, there’s a lot of space between boot-licking and respecting an artist. I’m glad we have a diversity of tastes though, the world sure would be boring otherwise.

4 Likes

Good Q&A…Thanks.

Not heard him since he switched from ableton&modular into this…

Must look for a recent live set.

I am also preparing a set like this at the moment and thought about getting an Octatrack to solve my three problems I currently have:

1. no mixer
  2. some FX
  3. Looping my modular system