So, is everybody getting out of modular?

Something I’ve noticed more and more (on here, Modwiggler, FB marketplace and other spaces) is people selling entire collections of modules, or trading without wanting more modular back in return. Plus with some great manufacturers (Mutable, WMD et al) closing shop last year… is the Golden Age of Eurorack over? Or is it just changing market forces, chip shortages, Covid fallout etc causing a downturn that will correct itself when exciting future modules are announced? Discuss.

11 Likes

I got out of it for a couple months, but got sucked back in after a while. I think it’s just the natural ebb and flow of things. Popular modules still seem to have no trouble selling on Reverb and elsewhere.

8 Likes

I personally think it’s the latter, but I’m no prognosticator.

I think covid resulted in an unnatural demand, that is starting to come back to equilibrium. Similar thing happened with video game sales.

11 Likes

A lot of people are dealing with an unstable economy, Eurorack is expensive. It also takes a lot more work, time and research to actually make music with a modular system. Lastly a lot of people seem to have gotten into it during the pandemic and have maybe realized that it isn’t for them. With the aforementioned economic troubles for some, selling in light of that makes sense.

17 Likes

January “tax sales” were not uncommon a decade ago on MW, I wonder if the sales we are seeing now are just proportional to Modular’s much greater popularity today?

For me, stand-alone synths do what I wanted my modular to do, but cheaper and in less space. Lyra, Syntrx & OPSIX in particular.

There are plenty of interesting modules, and video synths have become more popular and affordable, so I don’t see modular rugs rigs going away any time soon.

I’ve also got other expensive hobbies I’d rather spend euro-money on. :man_shrugging:t2:

4 Likes

I’ve always preferred my rugs to have a fixed architecture.

16 Likes