Sequencing an SH-101 from the Analog Four

Hello Elektronauts,

I’ve recently become the proud owner of an SH-101 that had been on extended lease in my “studio”. Until now, i was sequencing it from Ableton Live using a Doepfer MCV4 MIDI to CV box ( http://www.doepfer.de/mcv4.htm ).

However, using the Analog Four slightly more, it came to my mind it could be very fun to sequence the SH directly from the A4 sequencer instead of using live’s piano roll. I tried plugging the Gate and CV cable in the A4 CV outputs, but to very little success. I somehow feel like i’m missing the proper cables, as the CV outputs seem to send both gate and CVs ?

I’m really a noob regarding CVs and gates, so any help will be greatly appreciated. Ultimately, if someone knows of a Youtube tutorial of some sort, please post up the link :slight_smile:

Not sure exactly how to answer as I don’t have a 101 but there’s decent A4 cv tips here that use a 101 in an example which might be helpful.

[font=.HelveticaNeueUI]http://analog.pen.io/

Cables could be your problem. The Analog4 CV out are dual outputs using TRS (Tip Ring Sleeve) and you can configure which CV signals depart from the Tip and Ring independently.

Outputs A and C are tip, B and D are ring, sleeve is ground.

This means you will need a suitable INSERT type cable, i.e a single TRS jack to two TS jacks… Or more commonly known as a Stereo to 2x Mono jack lead. Like this: http://www.audiospares.com/home.php?cat=363

Info on how to configure each of the four outputs is on page 38 of the manual with further info in Appendix C.

When I get a chance I’ll post a demo…

Yes, everything should be there…but it looks like pen.io messed up the formatting of the page. I’ll fix it in a bit.
Anyway, I second modul-r’s assessment: it’s all about the cables.
Perhaps, Elektron should supply at least one of these 1/4" stereo to 1/8" dual-mono cables with the next batch of A4s.