Separating the Wheat from the Chaff(Sampling)

Where to start?

I’m not long got into the Sampling world being just a keyboardist for decades. I see so many sites like Splice etc which they say have a traffic of 5 million going through their doors looing for samples. Nice but i’m not a Producer just a hobbyist so overkill i think. Then i see records that are the most sampled records of all time. (as in top 100 sampled records of all time). Great but id rather have anonymous not familiar. So that cuts it down further,. Still of course gazillions to choose from. I see job lots of 100 albums for peanuts on ebay. I dont want to become a hoarder and end up with a garage full of vinyl. So where to start? I have a limited sample library. Mostly drum breaks, one shots. Instruments stabs and loops etc. But where to find the gems? Or do you make the samples into gold yourself? As in mangling in the Octatrack. Do you start then with just a beat or sound you like that jasts for a bar or two and go from their. Then You-tube looks like a good place to head. Obviously bit rate, compression will not be the best. But its a start. And its free as long as you remix it enough or just say who sampled who sort of thing by giving credit otohe original artist(which i probably would do). I cant see the point in paying for fantastic samples where i am right now. Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

Ediit. Genres im looking into is Hip Hop and Electronica. Although Experimental is appealing too.

1 Like

just use the amen break, anything under 100kb file size is best.

i find it so weird that people use that splice website.

2 Likes

Yes i was wondering if they really have 5 million users. I mean great samples and all but polished to the nth degree and expensive.