Rigging a Midi Keyboard to an Analog Four

I’ve never programmed a Midi Keyboard before(had some experience trying to program a Midi Pedal to an Octatrack…which seems like a easier gig on account that it’s just Midi Notes, instead of ranges). But right now, I have a midi keyboard plugged into my A4. And it works for Voice# 1, but regardless what voice I have selected, only Voice#1 is being played from the keyboard.

Anybody know what the keyboard needs to be programmed to?

You just need to send midi to your AUTO channel. By default your midi channels are set as follows,

track 1 = midi channel 1
track 2 = midi channel 2
track 3 = midi channel 3
track 4 = midi channel 4
FX channel = midi channel 5
cv channel = midi channel 6

then it skips 7

performance channel = midi channel 8
AUTO channel = midi channel 9

if you send midi notes to midi channel 9 it will play the sound of whatever track you have selected, or whatever sound you are currently browsing through. I’m pretty sure this is what you are looking for.

4 Likes

Thank you very much, sir! I’ll definitely try that!

I have a question regards the A4 in combination with my S61 midi keyboard from NI.
I connect the A4 via USB to the mac and use ableton live.
Is it possible to play the A4 via the midi keyboard on every track?

At the moment I only can play the first Track No.1.

Best regards,
Marc

autochannel?

1 Like

Use the Autochannel feature (described in the manual in the section on the GLOBAL > MIDI CONFIG > CHANNELS menu) to have incoming MIDI messages control whichever is the active track on the Analog Four.

1 Like

Thank you for your fast replys.
Will this also work via USB only, means the A4 is only connected via USB and the S61 midi keyboard also?

Yes.

I set the under Midi config / channels / the Auto channel to 9.
Unfortunately the midi keyboard only play track 1.
It is the same when I change the Auto channel to 2 for example.