Reeeeally basic Qs about Digitakt + other gear

Hi eeryone,

I’ve been using my Digitakt for about a year now and know it pretty well, but have not yet used it with any other gear. I’m new to the concept of devices talking to each other. With this in mind, I wonder if you’d endulge two basic questions:

1. I know the Digitakt has 8 dedicated tracks. This in theory means I can control up to 8 external devices. But it doesn’t have 8 MIDI outs, so how would this work? Would there need to be some sort of MIDI interchange box sitting inbetween the 'Takt and those 8 devices, or am I missing something?

2. I know some devices can act as audio interfaces and process incoming audio into their effects/compressor etc. Can the 'Takt do this? I ask because if I get a synth with no effects, I’d like to be able to run it through the 'Takt’s delay/reverb, and certainly its compressor. Is this possible, or am I way off? If it IS possible, what is the correct terminology that denotes that this is possible, so I know what I’m looking for in future purchases, i.e. that one device can process incoming audio from other devices?

Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

Hi!

MIDI (1.0, 2.0 has more but not supported yet) has 16 channels. You can choose which channel you can send a midi track (or step within that track) to. The other top tracks have a MIDI channel each too so if you send a MIDI note / CC to them via that channel it’ll hit that track. This gets fun when you loop the Digitakt MIDI output into its MIDI input.

If you are using software then the USB will send MIDI to the computer and allow you to pick which channel goes where. If hardware, you’ll probably need a splitter. There are many out there but I’d recommend a Blokas Midihub as an investment as it lets you do amazing other things.