Recording Analog RTYM Mkii Sequencer Midi in Live

Hi.

Im relatively new to Elektron but am quickly falling in love with these machines.

So far I have the Model:Samples which I totally love. :slight_smile:

Having fallen for the M:S I have my eye on an RYTM Mk2 that is for sale locally at a used good price but Im concerned about 1 thing.

My question is this.

Is it possible to record the sequencer midi out into Ableton Live? I have read lots that it isn’t but then also that it is. Im confused.

For a £1000+ instrument to fit into my workflow I need to be able to capture that Elektron sequencer magic in live so I can arrange/edit etc.

Does anyone here have a definitive answer? All help gratefully appreciated. :slight_smile:

:white_check_mark:

2 Likes

There are quite a few functionalities of the Elektron sequencer (for example: sound locks) which cannot be captured in any way as MIDI stream, because there is simply no functionality to trigger a specific sound which isn’t the track’s sound on specific step from external.

If I remember correctly plocked parameters aren’t sent as MIDI CCs, too, but at least you can get the notes from the audio tracks as MIDI stream.

2 Likes

So thats a yes then?

Ive watched Bo Beats demo of controlling other hardware but wasnt sure if you can record the midi out in a DAW?

1 Like

Since October 2019 - yes - the AR can be made to transmit basic note data only - it won’t be comprehensive at covering what the internal seq can do as explained above - it’s a super basic implementation and only spans the 4 octaves that the instrument can send on per track

there’s no CC sequencing as stated and it’s pretty much bare bones - it will appear at Din out if enabled per track (or USB) so any device can see this and record it etc - there may be hoops to jump through if trying via OB though

1 Like

Thanks man! Appreciate it.

I think I may hold off to be honest if its as basic as you say.