One device to rule them all?

Hi there folks!

With the most recent purchase of a Digitakt (I love it already!) and a potential future purchase of a Syntakt, I’m now in the pursuit of an all-in-one (single) device that can act as an audio interface for recording purposes, pre to switch between various sources, and a headphone amp / dac basically something that allows me connect all these inputs and easily switch between them and outputs (speakers vs headphones) without having to change / swap cables.

I’m a total newbie when it comes to cabling / routing, did quite bit of a research, nicely overwhelmed myself with all the technicalities and couldn’t find any such device. :slight_smile: At this point, I’m willing to let go of the topping DAC and amp combo and invest in something that is Mel e future proof. Budget is under 2000.

Here is the setup I currently have without the audio interface.

At this point, my guess is that I’d have to have at least 2 devices which is fine as none of the audio interface & pre combos I’ve come across seems to be strong enough to drive power hungry headphones.

It might be very well possible that I’m totally on a wrong path here, so please shout out if that seem to be the case.

Can you guys please help a confused fellow here?

Many thanks!

1 Like

Hello, DancingShaman, you can use DT as audio interface, and record all tracks in daw individually with overbridge.

4 Likes

You have quite a few options for doing what you wrote down:

• as @dmitryleeo said, you can use the DT (and also ST?) as audio interfaces for their own tracks using just a usb cable
  • You could get an audio interface with several (8 or more) inputs to route all your sources into. This way, you can use your daw to mix/select sources.
  • You could get a patchbay and use it to add more selectable inputs to your 2 channel interface.