Octatrack - sample editing

Good morning all, I am new to octatrack and hope for advice herešŸ˜€
I am using octatrack, and triggering 2 or more samples through the same track.
When wanting to edit these samples one of them will already be in the sample editor, but I canā€™t figure out how to switch to the others?
Thanks you

The sample editor will default to the sample assigned to the track in the Part.

Iā€™m not sure how youā€™re triggering two samples - pkock, manual triggering - but there can only be one sample ASSIGNED per track per Part. This is what the sample editor should defaultto.

To edit another one youā€™ll just have to manually select it and edit.

1 Like

Hold the trig and turn the level encoder to switch samples. You can only trig one sample per track per step.

You canā€™t open it in the sample editing view without going back into the sample select view for flex machines.

3 Likes

Thank you guys, stupid zen that hit the nail on the head, special thanks to you

1 Like

this thread seemed ok for this question.

on a mac/pc , are there any tools that would interpret markers in a sample file and turn them into slice markers when dropped onto octatrack. , e.g using audacity etc.
e.g
a nice bassline and i want to turn each note into a slice so i can easily trigger them separately.
or do i need to do this on octatrack screen / split it up and use octachainer to put them back together.

or get octaedit which i assume can do this,

thanks.

What are we making assumptions on/about?

check out octachainer: https://ticticelectro.com/2017/08/26/octachainer-v1-3/

Iā€™m about to experiment w. it - think it requires you to split by marker into separate files then recombine & copy audio & meta files to the OT but thatā€™s good for me.

btw - can you add markers with Audacity?

todayā€™s assumption is tomorrows feature request :grin:

1 Like

Might be yesterdays functionalityā€¦ :wink:

2 Likes