Octatrack : how can I determine the original note of a kick sample

Hi,
I am a beginner with the Octatrack and I would have my Kick in tune with my external bass synth.
How are you doing when this information is not written in the Kick Sample ?
In Live, we can use the Tuner or Span. In the Akai Force, there is a tuner.
Do you use an external Chromatic Toner ?
Or must I play the Kick in Chromatic Mode ? (I also have the Analog Rytm which forces the note when you play the note chromatically).
Thanks for you help.

Yeah, use an analyser like Span, look for the highest peak. That‘s usually the fundamental. Or you do it by ear (when it sounds good, it is good).

On Rytm and OT, pitch is relative. If the sample is tuned to a C note, you can play it chromatically and the notes will be correct. Even Rytm‘s synth engine can be tuned individually and their standard tunings differ.

by ear.
Use a tuner (hundreds of free tuner apps for your phone)

Or just dont even think about it. (My most favourite method. Works a treat.)

4 Likes

Thanks. I will try by ear as I bought an Octatrack to use it dawless.

Doing it by ear is essential on the OT. Especially when using the EQs, compressor etc.

I’d go for less in tune and prioritise having it not clash with the weight of your bassline, but still complement it. Most kicks tend to sweep through frequencies until they decay unless you’re talking like using a long 808 or something.

3 Likes

You don’t assume, from the start.

Route it into Live or play it there from USB disk mode.

Ah, maybe install GuitarTuna on your phone then?

Agree. To each their own and all that, but F9/Freemasons main man does an excellent video regarding keying your kick and why it doesn’t really make sense for most applications.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyPKVaugAhw&ab_channel=F9Audio

You can use a fixed lfo designer for finer pitch.
Pitch 0.2 semitone increments aren’t very precise.

1 Like