Octatrack Feature Requests [closed]

Hi Elektronauts!

This is my first post in the forum so please be gentle :slight_smile:

I’ve been producing and releasing music professionally for about 8 years now and recently purchased an OT so as to move away from looking at a computer screen all day and move my productions into a live setting collaborating with other live musicians.

Ive been a total fan of Elektron since the first day I received my machinedrum over 10 years ago…so it’s with utter respect for their work that I make these requests…

I’m not very programming minded so excuse me if my requests are perhaps inapplicable on the OT but here goes…

1. regarding the RETRIGGER function: I feel this is a very under developed feature and I would point the guys at Elektron to look at the Yamaha RM1X and it’s fantastic MIDI DELAY function for inspiration.

For those who are not familiar with it here is what it does:

Using an on-screen parameter window and ONE knob the MIDI DELAY allowed for repeating notes entered in the step sequencer to be repeated at quantized intervals with controls for amount of retriggers but, and here is the icing, also control over where the repeated notes would play on a chromatic scale. Meaning that with a drum kit loaded on a track (or a drum chain on the OT) you could create complex drum patterns by imputing say just one kick on the first step of the sequencer and using the MIDI DELAY to repeat other sounds in the kit (or chain). Live recording the knob movements and overdubbing one could create complex rhythms using just the MIDI DELAY. The knob simply controlled the volume or velocity for the repeats: 0 no repeat, 100, repeat at same velocity and 127 repeat at a slightly higher velocity.

(Failing this simply a control for the velocity of the retriggers would be great)

The same could be applied to melodic instruments enabling you to create complex melodies and arpeggios from just ONE note in the step sequencer.