Octatrack DJ

Hey guys I have been getting a lot of mixed messages from people at stores and on the internet about this so I thought I’d ask it here : )

I know this question has been asked before but my question is a bit different. I know the octatrack is great but there’s some new alternatives that have come out.

Lots of people are telling me to get a pioneer toraiz and at my local music store they suggest getting the new mpc live. I’m not experienced with elektron, mpc, or most hardware gear so it doesn’t matter to me which one I get or which one is easier because I’m a fast learner :slight_smile: Sound quality is the only thing I could see mattering.

I honestly really like the crossfader on the octatrack and that’s what’s making me lean the most in that direction. I really like the idea of mixing between parameters in that way and electrons parameter locks and stuff seem very cool as well!

The purpose is something that’s capable of DJing when I want to (small events and such) and can hold my drum loops or melody loops from the songs I make on my computer so I can manipulate it and play it live. I know mpc live seems to be made for this because it has the ability of doing a straight transfer of what’s on your computer, it even exports things with vst’s with bouncing the audio, super cool! It has a battery, big pads, and looks nice. But to be honest to me it feels like too much like a computer, if it had a cross fader and more performance tricks I would be really into it. But my hands are small and clumsy when I’m moving around, a touch screen is not as good for me as having a bunch of knobs. I know that you can customize knobs on the mpc or even have external midi gear but it’s not the same.