Newb to Elektron, First Buy Anxiety!

Hi all. I’ve been out the songwriting game for a long time (my last setup was an Atari ST with Cubase, an Alesis Quadrasynth, and an Emu ESI-32 bought 30 years ago!).

I’m a drummer and I trigger stuff from a Roland SPD SX Pro live. I write tracks on Reaper with VSTi’s. I stumbled on the Model:Cycles recently and now I have major GAS. The option to have something simple I can quickly write chord melodies and beats on for collaborating in the moment is very attractive for me, as I can’t play keys and have limited musical knowledge. I love the FM sound, and the Elektron sequencer workflow has really got my attention.

In my head I have a set up of: a Model:Cycles for simple beat and melody creation; a Roland AIRA S-1 for analogue sounds via the M:C sequencer, and the SPD SX Pro for recording songs and loops (not live) from the two modules and allowing extra triggering via the M:C sequencer. Keeping it simple like me, and those units’ sounds are good enough for my needs.

But…

…the Digitakt keeps teasing me with its workflow, almost universal love, single cycle synthesis capabilities, and single sample box neatness! Getting one used and pairing with an M:C is also very tempting, but I’m trying to stay under £500.

Sorry, I know, ANOTHER NEWB QUESTION. But I’d welcome anyone’s experience of going down the M:C and separates route and then buying a Digitakt later or going the other way.

Thank you!

3 Likes

oh boy hahahahhahha. And welcome!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @UnkleKev.

The M:C was my first Elektron purchase, less than two weeks after I decided to rekindle my long-dormant love affair with synths. I eventually came to regret it and it is one of the few pieces that I have sold. My advice would be to start with Digitakt, but others will differ.