NEW TO HARDWARE: How To Stay In Key?

Hey everyone,

This is my first post here, about my first hardware drum machine, and first Elektron purchase :wink:

I say this to illustrate how new I am to all this.

My background is in audio engineering and DAWs, and wanted to branch out to explore the world of hardware, so I decided to go with Elektron.

The big question I have is a conceptual one as much as it is technical:

If I wanted to make a minimal, yet full song with most traditional elements (drums, chord progression, bassline, samples, etc), how much of this can I accomplish on the RYTM, and how do I ensure I stay in the chosen key?

I realize this is mostly a drum machine that can sample, so chords and bass (anything musical) would have to be sampled or multisampled in first with the proper key label I assume?

Also I would figure Chromatic mode would be use heavily here, but not sure how I would know which pads are in key and those that are not in key.

Or, maybe I just do all the ā€œin keyā€ work in my daw ahead of time, label them all accordingly, and drop them into the RYTM and ignore chromatic mode completely? Iā€™m not sure what the intention and limitations of Chromatic mode is.

Maybe Iā€™m overthinking this here, but I donā€™t know what I dont know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks a ton!

Learn the intervals of the minor / major scale and apply those intervals to the trig page of your sample / note (after finding the note of the sample)

For instanceā€¦

I know if I am working in the minor key I can parameter lock the ā€œnoteā€ on the trig page as follows:

0, +2, +3, +5, +7, +9, -2, -5, ā€¦ etc

8 Likes

No preset scales in the AR. Learn music theory and/or use your ears :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I personally use Abletonā€™s tuner to make sure each element is tuned properly.