New Octatrack MK II or Digitakt?

Hi there Elektronauts!

As an EDM artist, I am fascinated by Elektron gear and wanting to get either the new Octatrack MK II or the new Digitakt. I use Ableton Live on a laptop with Ableton Push 2 controller and want a lightweight non PC mobile rig for performing. A few of the guys here in San Diego have Elektron gear and love it. Since I have a Microkorg analog synth keyboard, what would be the more viable Elektron gear to buy? I am new to the world of Elektron and it is so confusing coming from software synths and computer DAWs! Hopefully I can check out some gear this weekend to get a better hands on feel. I really want something that can play drums and bass while I create melody on the keyboard and that fits well with the Korg MIDI keyboard analog synth that I use.

Thanks,
Ben

If you’re new to all things hardware, the Digitakt has a lower threshold to learn. But since you’re from the DAW world, its focused feature set might put you off, especially when you start to sample your Korg and learn about the true implications of a mono sampler.

The Octatrack takes some time to get into, but it’s worth the bother. It’s closer to where you’re coming from and for a non-Elektroner, I’m not sure it’s all that more confusing than the Digitakt.

4 Likes

Thanks then would go with the new Octatrack MKII. Now guess my question is, how is the Octatrack different than the Analog 4?

1 Like

The octatrack is a sampler.
The Analog four is a synthesizer.

7 Likes

If this is your question
The digitakt might be a good idea to start with

Dont look for DAW functionality
And dont underestimate deepness

1 Like
  • your Microkorg is not Analog. It’s a Digital/Virtual analog synth.
5 Likes

My suggestion also would be to have a deeper look at the digitakt. There are already a lot of helpful youtube videos online, where you can get a feeling for what it can do.