Needing an upgraded Mac for music production (Need some thoughts/opinions)

I currently am using my mid-2010 iMac for my non-hardware music production and sound design needs, The issue is that it is an i3 processor, I have it maxed out for ram (I think it’s like 16GB) In all other aspects the specs are fine, It runs decently but not as well as I would like it to and I’m feeling like I may need to upgrade due to some random software issues and slow downs large CPU usage in Ableton live etc. Really my studio is pretty much entirely hardware, There is a post where I listed all of my gear but to sum it up quickly I have all 5 Elektrons which are my main means of production and a ton of synths, modular etc etc I work as a sound designer and produce music on the side.
I use my computer for Ableton live 9, I do some work in Maschine, Essentially for production I use it just to track all of my hardware, automation and arrangement then to mix once everything is recorded (Which means any and all plugins that are needed for the mixing and engineering stage)
For sound design I use a combo of hardware and some software some of which is essential for FX plugins and for editing audio quickly.

So in in a way I’m not using a lot of computer power, I don’t really use any softsynths or anything and there are some workarounds that I do to keep things running but I do need a computer powerful enough to do what I mentioned above.

My question is could I get a second hand Mac that is enough of an upgrade from my current iMac for around $900? (I know that’s a low budget for a Mac but that’s what I have to work with right now and I’m just kicking around the idea) doesn’t matter if it is a macbook or an iMac though a Macbook would be nice so I could take it between the studio and home but that’s not a make it or break it kind of thing
Would it be worth it or should I just tough it out with my current iMac until I can afford a major upgrade?