Music Copyright is CRAP: A Collection of Cases

Hi guys,

I recently finished a video essay and the contents of it were actually inspired by this forum.

That’s the thread I mention in the beginning of the video.

I figure since that comment is one of my top-rated comments here on this lovely site, you guys may also be interested in the contents of the essay. This is my first time branching out into this kind of medium (one I’ve voraciously consumed over the years–figure it’s time to give back) so go easy on me :stuck_out_tongue: Hope you all can learn something.

15 Likes

I think copyright should be limited to ~15 years across the board.

2 Likes

Many would argue that the artist should get paid for their work as long as they’re alive. Theres a lot of discussion to be had there.

5 Likes

The problem comes when it’s no longer the artist making the money from those royalties. As soon as record labels, lawyers, “estates” or just some rich fucker become the main benficiary it stops being about protecting the work of artists and simply becomes a money game.
We pay artists royalties out of respect for their hard work and inspiration. If we’re not paying the artist, there’s no respect, just lining pockets.
The problem, as in most areas, is with rich arseholes exploiting the system to increase and maintain their own wealth.

7 Likes

Great essay …

I think most of us would agree that people or organisations doing work, should get a fair compensation and that stealing ideas from others is undesired socially and economically.

I think the task is to get an agreement what shall be protected, how it should be protected, and how long.

And all of this should be ruled by common sense or even better ethics rather than lawyers. There have been too many cases - not only in the music industry - where lawyers have created particular business cases just to make profit for themselves.

Exactly … and let me add this … “without any benefit for the community but for themselves”

1 Like