Music box for TOTAL beginner

Hi all,

I have a friend (a Japanese girl) who has been talking about making music for about a year and done nothing about it. It’s her birthday and I’d like to get her something to start on. I think it will need drums, synth capability and some fx.

She likes k pop, I listened to some stuff she likes, very pop, there were sampled drums and synth lines. I think she generally likes electronic music too.

I’d like to keep the price down if possible. She was watching drum machine videos and mentioned the Pulsar 16, I told her it’s probably the most complicated drum machine ever, she said it made sense how you put the “wires” in different places to do different things. I’m a Eurorack user but I certainly don’t have the budget to gift a euro system.

I think consideration on what to do with the music once created is a good idea - can you get the stems etc from the box.

Thanks

Novation Circuit Tracks or MC101? The Circuit doesn’t render stems, but a small Tascam recorder or a Scarlet audio interface will do the trick.

3 Likes

First thought that came to my mind as well (Novation Circuit Tracks). Flexible and straight forward at a decent enough price.

Digitakt as well, of course, if you love this friend a LOT! :slight_smile: (price tag and all ;))

Yeah, I reckon that new circuit would probably do the trick.

Or go mental and get her the Erica Pico System 3.

OK wow the circuit tracks cost more than expected.

I think around £200 max is all I can muster.

Edit: God the MC101 is expensive too :man_facepalming:t2:

I don’t look at the lower end of the market for myself. I thought
This stuff was cheaper.

laptop

1 Like

A second hand, first-generation Novation Circuit is likely to be closer to your budget.

4 Likes

A Korg Electribe Sampler (used) should be around 200€. Alternatively a Korg Volca Sample 2 for 169€

3 Likes