MIDI Loopback Video Tutorial for the Digitakt

Hello boys and girls!

Here is a little video tutorial for the Digitakt. I’ve been using the MIDI loopback all the time for a few months and got a few questions here and there on my other videos so I thought I’d make this. It’s beginner-friendly but I also show some more advanced things you can do with it (beyond the 8 additional LFOs). Hope you like it! :

It’s my first tutorial and I plan on doing a few more so any feedback is greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

Peace! :heart_decoration:

EDIT : I just made a follow-up to this tutorial where I describe how to use the MIDI loopback to create a Song Mode on the Digitakt, I’ll put this here :

25 Likes

Awesome great vid !

1 Like

Clean graphics, very clear explanation. But probably not meant for noobs like me. I feel I need to learn more about midi before being able to set this up. But thank you for this very clear tutorial.
A little off-topic:
I also watched Dave Mech’s tutorial on the retrokits 002 set up, but just can’t get it to work…I’m on the 1.11 beta version firmware…I wonder whether this has anything to do with it?
Maybe I need to start with a normal midi cable, make things work, then step up to the retrokits.
Thank you again!

thanks, great video! :+1:t2: nice, consistent style… good separation and clear presentation of information, professional production

little feedback: some of the text were displayed a little to short for my liking, so i had to pause the video to read/understand (and look at the corresponding the pictures) but maybe it is just me…

@hanslr Thank you for the kind word! I tried to make it beginner-friendly but I can see how it can be confusing if you’re not familiar with MIDI in general. I feel like I’m still a MIDI noob myself but I would be happy to try and answer some specific question maybe? As you mentioned, OS 1.11 might have something to do with your issue, maybe someone around here can confirm if the MIDI loopback works with it?