Looking to buy a new hardware sequencer

Hey all,

I’m looking to buy a new hardware sequencer. I have been on the list for 16 months now for a Cirklon but I give up now so I was looking at either a Squarp Pyramid or a Toraiz Squid.

I have a few synths I wanna run through it for live sets listed below.

• Waldorf Quantum
  • Waldorf Kyra
  • Behringer MS-1
  • Roland MC-707
  • Nord Lead 4R
  • Roland JV2080
    I do have more hardware however this above gear probably is all I need hooked up for now

Which would suit my needs for House & Techno stuff?

Experiences?

Rob

Dang, it sounds like you’re almost there with the Cirklon.

I’m no expert on what’s best for what, so I’ll just quietly send my support and recommend that you get the one with the most inspiration and the fewest obstructions.

Did you eliminate the Synthstrom Deluge from your list? People seem to love that thing, but I’ve no first-hand experience of any of them.

2 Likes

I can’t offer up a suggestion as to which sequencer to purchase, but I’m considering the Toraiz Squid.

1 Like

If budget is a concern squid might be a good option.

Why not Octa?

3 Likes

I have the toraiz squid great sequencer for generating patterns and ideas but is probably limited for a whole live set with limited pattern sets and no real program change integration. It’s more suitable for production

1 Like

Squid’s great for more live jamming, spontaneous ways to build stuff, and it has a few unique tricks up its sleeve which makes it cool.

But for coherence, structure, longer sets and just going to strange places, the Pyramid can’t be beat when compared with the Squid. The Squid’s really the DJ mentality poured into a sequencer and for that, it deserves to be loved. But it doesn’t have the depth and flexibility of the Pyramid, despite some of its pretty cool, quite special tricks.

3 Likes