Looking for an "all-in-one" keyboard

Thing is, I play jazz with one band, I make electronic music, and I play pop-rock classics on another band. I’m a very amateur player, but I’d like a keyboard that I can bring to rehearsals, and to a performance from time to time.

Ideally, it would have one good piano sound, one good organ emulation, some classic synth sounds, and some MIDI master keyboard capabilities.

I’ve had a Nord Electro for a while. The piano and organ sounds were awesome, the keybed was good, but the synth and MIDI part were very limited (for example, no mod wheel on a 1700€ keyboard).

I don’t need 50 piano/organ sounds, just a good one on each category. I don’t want to buy 2/3 keyboards, as I say, I’m not a professional player, and I’ll probably play different things with different people in a year or two, just to learn and play with people. Just an okish do-it-all keyboard I can carry around.

An obvious candidate is a Nord Stage, but it is very expensive. What would you recommend? Yamaha MODX? Roland VR-730?

+1 for the MODX

The sample-based synth engine may not offer everything a dedicated virtual analog engine would, but IMO it more than makes up for it with a lot of flexibility and also being paired with one of the best hardware FM engines available. As far as piano and organ sounds, you’re sure to find ones you love, and there are some free official sound expansions available to download. It’s also shockingly light for carrying purposes!

2 Likes

How is the keybed of the MODX? I read that there’s a difference between the MODX8 and the smaller MODX7 and MODX6 versions.

Korg Kronos?

The modx6/7 Keybed feels very small and light to me, but the sounds/fm engine are amazing… you could ultimately pair it with a weighted midi controller for proper piano feel and use the light keys for synth sounds (it’s what I’d do if I had room)

…second hand…two choices…nord stage ones…or timeless kurzweil stage ones…