Jomox Alphabase - thoughts and alternatives?

I recently saw this box on Youtube demos at Superbooth and I’m really impressed but it’s a hefty price-tag.

I’m a techno producer, so I think it appeals for that reason.

For me it solves three problems:

1. Having samples available in the hardware and as a result a wider range of drum sounds available outside of the computer than the DrumBrute gives me.
  2. Having an all in one box that I can jam a complete track out of - the sampler means I can use wave forms and make instruments too.
  3. Introducing an FM synth into my workflow.

However, this concept is pretty new to me and I’ve not been able to find anything comparable, so I was wondering what comparable products are out there.

Go digital. Get an Op-1

Internal battery powered all in one with sampling, synthesis and FX. Even a 4-track recorder

It’s even got Fm

1 Like

Just get a second hand RYTM.

4 Likes

Yeah I think the RYTM is the obvious alternative
Synth and samples in the one box

1 Like

Its pretty expensive isn’t it?
1700 EU? Not sure.

I gues you could get a second hand AR and Md for the same price.

Or an md and mm, or Ar and mm.

What does your current setup look like? What hardware and/or software do you use? If you use software, what controller do you use with it? Are you happy with your workflow in general?

1 Like

I think a great affordable alternative that is about 1/4 the price is the MFB Tanzmaus. I was considering one before deciding to sell stuff, and splurge on the Jomox Alpha Base.

2 Likes

Personally, as an unhappy owner of an Xbase 999, I wouldn’t touch Jomox’s gear. Obtuse interface, oddly cheap knobs and for all that it’s built-like-a-tank, feels DIY in terms of general feel.

Moreover, I’ve found the firmware to be buggy.

Mind you, I might just be unlucky, so of course consider the opinions of others.

1 Like