Japanese music - Deep cuts

I have to admit that despite living in Japan for a really long time, I didn’t really get into Japanese music until way too late. Being a hip hop head from way back, most of the stuff I’ve found that are my favorite tunes are older deep cuts, but I’m still learning and would love to hear other people’s favorites.

Here are a few to kick things off, but I won’t overwhelm the thread on the first post:

Hako Yamasaki - Help Me

Dark folk from the 1970s. Incredible electric piano and guitar, amazing voice. She was 19 when she recorded this one.

Hiromi Iwasaki - Campus Girl

1970s disco. The intro was sampled for one of my favorite SP beat tapes (Tuxedo Kamen - Supreme Pancakes). The guitar kills in this track.

Hi Fi Set - Sky Restaurant

Dope early city pop from 1975. Perhaps the precursor to city pop. On lots of city pop mixes I think, but I love the sound of this one.

Space Warrior Baldios OST - Jokyoku

Sampled for MF DOOM and Ghostface’s classic Angelz.

Yea, that’s right. It’s not a Hardy Boy mystery neither. This is real shit. This shit come on right after Hart to Hart y’all

Space Warrior Baldios - Ending (English version)

I randomly came across this when looking for other cuts and for some reason I really dig it. Apparently it’s never been released on any soundtrack records. Bummer as I would buy the 7” in a heartbeat. (Some guy on Reddit was apparently searching for it for nearly 30 years and people helped him find it.)

Kimiko Kasai featuring Herbie Hancock- Butterfly (1979)

This one is much more well known, but a favorite.

Maybe that’s all for now. I’ll post up some jazz-funk and psychedelic stuff next maybe.

Anyway, hit me with your favorites.

20 Likes

The Japanoise scene is top notch

7 Likes

Also, I love her

and her band of course

1 Like

Great thread, I’ll be listening to these later. Cheers

1 Like