I switched from Digitakt to A4mk2. strange feelings : )

im relatively new in the elektron world but i loved the worklflow right away. I own a digitone and a digitakt, which i both “master” quite good, after practicing a lot and after studying the manuals in every detail. As i’m not much of a sampling guy and as i wanted something analog i decided to relplace the Digitakt with a Analog4mk2. Mainly because it was very cheap and because i wanted one of the “big elektron machines”
It’s a great peace of gear, but frankly i’m a little bit disappointed, giving the fact that in my opinion it’s almost twice the price of the digitakt/digitone, but not twice that “cool”, …with those 4 tracks and 4 voices.
My question: do you think that i got this feeling just because i’m new to the A4 and i have to give it (and me) some time to learn it, or should i go back to something like Digitakt plus some analog synth ?
oh, and i’m about to get some eurorack stuff, for which the A4’s cv outs would be great.
Apologize my crappy english and btw… I LOVE THIS FORUM :slight_smile:

Before you bought the A4, didn’t you know that it only has 4 voices/channels?

Either you accept this fact and enjoy your machine, or sell it and get whatever. It’s not magically going to become “twice as cool”.

Or is it’s sound not what you expected?

3 Likes

I am kinda in the same boat. The DT is my first Elektron machine and I got the A4 mk2 when it first came out (still waiting for the DN argh!!) I think in comparison the A4 workflow is less ‘immediate’ but much more elaborate and that’s why it might seem a bit underwhelming coming from the DT. But I still like my A4, the sound is superb! (I love analog!) It’s just needs a bit more attention to get used to at least in my case.

3 Likes

Yeah- the A4 workflow is not as streamlined as the DT also it’s just completely different. But it’s a great sounding analog synth- you just gotta invest the time into it- program the performance macros

3 Likes