I have a confession (genre rant)

So, as the title suggests, I have a confession. I think I might be a techno producer. A few years ago I would have probably vomited into my own mouth if those words ever came out of my mouth.

Ugh. Let me explain. I have, throughout the majority of my life, made primarily hip-hop beats. If you know me really well, you know that I am a student of hip-hop music and I am very committed to this craft. I have always hated four to the floor techno. Like, why? Gabber? GTFOH! But really, anything with that driving kick drum just punching you in the face over and over again. It just always reminded me of an alarm clock or something.

I love Squarepusher and Autechre and Aphex and BOC and Skinny Puppy and some NIN and tons of other electro/electro-hop type stuff but never really dug disco. I was even loosely affiliated with a hip-hop crew called Neva Dug Disco in Dallas in the early aughts. I study hip-hop religiously, and I love it religiously as well. In fact, I would even go so far as to say that hip-hop IS my religion and I will one day make pilgrimage to boogie down to pay tribute to Kool Herc and Bambaata and the other Gods in my lifetime. That’s correct, I plan to walk there, from Texas, but that’s another post for another day.

If you know me really well though, you know that I don’t JUST listen to hip-hop. My favorite band of all time is the Legendary Pink Dots. Number two is Coil. Number three is Skinny Puppy. Radiohead and Yasiin Bey round out my current top five, but Bjork and Yasiin have some issues to work out before that fifth spot can be confirmed if that helps any. Still though, I don’t listen to techno, like ever.