How much insanity is in the Digitone?

If one is after almost only weird, metallic, downright alien percussive sounds, it the Digitone a good choice? Will it get MM weird?

1 Like

yes! :slight_smile:

plocks, soundlocks, trigconditions, 4 tracks…

(but i have no experience with the monomachine)

2 Likes

For sure , percussion bliss !

1 Like

I do most of my percussion sounds with the Digitone these days, especially since the last update to the firmware.

1 Like

…u can’t go wrong with this instrument…and as with all elektron boxes, as deeper u dive into it, the deeper goes the rabbit hole…lucky dips, happy accidents and stuff u never thought of will come along all the way…and it’s the only machine where i dig the presets. in first place…

Thanks guys. Reading with great interest. Has anyone something to say about it, in relation to the Monomachine?

Plenty:
https://www.elektronauts.com/search?q=Digitone%20Monomachine

5 Likes

Point taken… :wink: Thank you :+1:

Check this out

6 Likes

That looks very cool! Thanks a lot :+1:

Very useful link, watched all three videos from this series.
Can you explain difference between DxRatio floating point numbers and Detune?
What is the most correct conversion to digitone patch?

Edit: found some info, as I understand +7/-7 detune range on dx7 is equivalent to +2/-2 cents, but not lineary.

What did the latest update do?

Ratio offsetting.

2 Likes

@muddeshewrote shared the link a while ago. He maybe can help ?

Also scale per track. It’s a game changer

Surprised it didn’t come with that from the beginning

1 Like

You also have to increase the M.LEN parameter (e.g. to INF).

“M.LEN controls the number of steps the pattern plays before all tracks restart. An INF setting makes the tracks of the pattern loop infinitely, without ever being restarted. Note that this setting also affects for how long the active pattern plays before a chained pattern starts playing. The CH.LEN parameter can override this.”

3 Likes