How hard is it to build a modular rig for video/vj'ing?

I am quite intrigued by the idea of building a modular system for video synthesizing. Very hard to find good resources, but maybe it’s just my poor eyesight.

I am a relative noob when it comes to modular and was wondering if it is very different from modular with audio (the principles not, I guess)

Looked for all in one solutions, but they are very hard to acquire. Chromagnon is maybe a good starting point (https://lzxindustries.net/products/chromagnon), but can’t find any video explaining what it does exactly.

Are there people here with knowledge (also of all the potential pitfalls - money :sunglasses: ) or maybe even with their own modular video rig?

Looking for audio responsive pattern generation first and maybe video feedback using camera’s.

Chromagnon isn’t released yet, but there are a few things about its predecessor Vidiot around

2 Likes

Last i checked, there is only about a handful of companies in the modular field or even non-modular that even work on video synthesis. A majority if it is lo-res and still uses rca outputs. if you are reallly into video synthesis the modules may be interesting but ultimately i find them pricier than audio modules.

there is lzx, giekes, and erogenous tones make good video related synths/modules.

2 Likes

it’s an expensive way to go. but really fun and rewarding. it’s a rabbit hole and there is a learning curve. I’ve spent some time w/a well stocked video system and really enjoyed it. LZX stuff is great. amazing stuff.

you can get more bang for your buck with a erogenous tones structure at the heart of your system. expensive but it’s an entire video synth in one module.

add some LZX stuff and you’re off to the races.

https://erogenous-tones.com/modules/structure/

for software there’s some great options too. Lumen is excellent and works in a very LZX type way. currently mac only but i htink he’s working on a windows version.