Help with regards to DN .dnsnd files

Hey elektronauts :blush::wave:

I’m new to the elektron world and I have a silly question and some help

Can someone tell me how to convert waves files to .dnsnd files, so i can import them into my digitone?

I made sounds in my daw but transfer dont take waves files…so im a bit lost here

Anyone?

Many thanks!

April 1 was yesterday.

5 Likes

.dnsnd are Digitone presets/patches = set of parameters to generate audio from the Digitone: you won’t find audio in there
.dnprj are projects for the Digitone, no audio sample neither, just parameters.

.dtsnd files are presets for the Digitakt, that include a sample and parameters such as reverse or repeat, etc.
.dtprj are projects for the Digitakt, they too contain samples.

It can happen that you get samples with a Digitone pack, but those are for preview only and can’t be loaded/used on the Digitone.

2 Likes

You can’t convert wav files to a digitone patch. Digitone is not a sampler that can play wav files. A wav file is a piece of audio sample. You can’t convert that into something that sets parameters on the digitone to recreate that sound :).

Cheers

3 Likes

I love elektronauts. this smile will last all day.

4 Likes

:thinking:

2 Likes

I feel like im dumb the way you answer thats not really Nice…im a newbie I know but come on…

So I cant import anything into the digitone? No sysex ? (If so how can I do?) and nothing else? I but sound patches, the have been made so there must be a way!

2 Likes

Dibs on “.dnsnd” as artist name.

1 Like

digitone is a synth, it cannot play samples, wav files are audio files and are not compatible with digitone, dnsnd files are kind of json files that store bunch of parameters for the synth parameters, they are not audio files, they are basically presets for the synth

2 Likes

…as said, ur a little confused…if i don’t take this for a late april joke…