Headroom, gain staging, stereo space and other headaches

Hi guys,

I have an issue with my OT that is not so easy to describe as I’m not a professional sound engineer.

I usually start producing with kick and bass, filter and add compression on each track to give it more thump. At that point it seems that the signal coming out of each track is already very “hot”, like there’s no headroom left. When I add other elements they don’t seem to mix well, I lose dynamics. An incremental increase of even a few values of a track’s level or effects can cause distortion.

The gain staging sweet spot is very difficult to find if you’re not starting from pre-mixed/pre-mastered samples/stems. I lose a lot of time trying to mix everything correctly, from levels to frequencies, and it’s becoming a pain.

Should I:
[ul]
[li]Stop using compression on each track?[/li]
[li]Lower the volume of samples in the sample edit menu and stop normalizing samples in general to give them more room?[/li]
[li]I usually leave all the volume parameters of the OT at default value (AMP page, main levels etc), should I tweak that to obtain more headroom?[/li]
[li]Other suggestions?[/li]
[/ul]

The other issue I’m having is obtaining deep stereo space. In many of my favourite artists’ tracks, there seems to be a “tail” of sound that expands the depth of the track on each side. It’s a sort of reverb/delay thing on the master that both binds sounds together and gives everything more room, more air. A true stereo feel which I’m finding hard to reproduce on the OT.

I love the OT and composing on it since day one, but I’m having trouble knowing if it’s really what I’m looking for. I feel like it’s really great for live performance of pre-produced tracks or stems, but more limited to use as a production hub/mixer. Maybe push+ableton is a better solution? I want to keep off the computer though…